Prizes & Awards

The IRSE has a number of prizes and awards which celebrate excellence, inspire colleagues and promote the Institution within train control and communication systems engineering.

IRSE Merit Award

This award recognises meritorious service to the Institution by one of its volunteers or a or staff member.  Nominations for Merit Awards are welcomed from the IRSE membership and section committees.

2019 winners: Ian Moore FIRSE and David Nicholson FIRSE. Ian was nominated for long service to the Institution and in particular to the York section. David was nominated for his assistance to Institution members in their preparation for the professional exam.

Thorrowgood Scholarship Award

Under the terms of the bequest of WJ Thorrowgood (Past President), the scholarship is awarded to a young member who has excelled in the Institution's Exam. It assists the development of a young engineer employed in the signalling and telecommunications field of engineering with £1500 towards an industry-based study tour.

2019 winner: Reece Martin MIRSE for attaining four passes with credits in the Exam sat in October 2018. Reece is planning a study tour of China to study high speed railways.

IRSE-Signet Award

This award is made jointly by the IRSE and Signet Solutions Ltd to the candidate achieving the highest marks in any single module of the Institution's exam. It was introduced to mark the 20th anniversary of the formation of Signet Solutions Ltd to recognise professional development by providing funding to attend an IRSE international event.

2019 winner: Paul Hobden AMIRSE for his excellent results in the IRSE professional exam sat in October 2018. He is planning to attend the IRSE International Convention in Toronto in 2020.

Dell Award

This award is made annually under a bequest of the late Robert Dell OBE (Past President) to a member of the Institution employed by London Underground Ltd for achievement of a high standard of skill in the science and application of railway signalling.  The recipient is presented with a cheque and award plaque.

2019 winner: Janagan Yoganathan for his work on the 4LM project delivering a new CBTC signalling system for the four sub-surface underground lines comprising the Metropolitan, District, Hammersmith & City and Circle Lines.