Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
IRSE Council and Trustees

The IRSE Council is the governing body of the Institution. The role of Council and the duties of Council members are defined in the Memorandum of Association & Articles of the Institution, but in summary, they make decisions on behalf of the members, as appropriate, in the running of the Institution, and generally have to ensure that the objectives for which the Institution has been established are progressed in a professional and satisfactory manner.

They are the Trustees of the Institution, which is a Registered Charity in England & Wales, and are also Company Directors, since the Institution is also registered as a UK company limited by guarantee. 

Council members are elected by the corporate members of the Institution, i.e. Fellows, Members and Associate Members, for two year terms, and they can stand for election for subsequent terms if they wish to do so, as defined in the Articles referred to above. The results of the election process are announced at the Institution’s Annual General Meeting held in April and are reported in IRSE NEWS.

Peter Symons became the 93rd President of the Institution following the Annual General Meeting held on 21 April 2017.  Click here to read the Address that he gave at the AGM.
The Council is supported by a number of principal Committees.  Click here to view an explanatory diagram of these Committees.
  • Peter Symons
    Peter Symons
  • Dr Markus Montigel
    Senior Vice President
    Markus Montigel
  • Gary Simpson
    Junior Vice President
    Gary Simpson
  • Council Members:
    Ian Bridges
    Alan Rumsey
    Jane Power
    George Clark
    Peter Allan
    Philip Wong
    Daniel Woodland
    Yuji Hirao
    Steve Boshier

  • Andy Knight
    Rob Burkhardt
    Ryan Gould
    Martin Fenner
    Lynsey Hunter
    Simon Eastmond
    Firas Al-Tahan
    Helen Kellaway
  • Francis How
    Chief Executive & General Secretary
    Francis How
  • Andrew Smith
    Andrew Smith